Community bank stablecoin payments: Coinbase and Moov just put acceptance in 1,000+ bank lobbies — and the money lands in a custodial account
Key takeaways
- September 10, 2026: Coinbase and Moov, a payments infrastructure provider serving more than 1,000 US community banks and credit unions, announced stablecoin payment acceptance, merchant settlement, payouts and real-time funding delivered through those institutions.
- The stated trigger is merchant demand. Moov's CEO: business customers of community institutions "are already being asked to accept stablecoins, and today they go outside their institution to do it." Acceptance is being built to stop that leakage.
- The architecture is custodial. Funds sit in Coinbase Developer Platform custodial wallet accounts; a Payments API moves them; the bank fronts the relationship. The merchant is the last stop in a chain of three.
- Not disclosed: which stablecoins, what acceptance costs, the go-live date, how fast proceeds reach a merchant's bank account, and who sets the reversal policy.
- Why now: the Senate holds a procedural vote on the CLARITY Act on September 15. Community bank lobby ICBA says stablecoin rewards could pull $1.3 trillion of deposits and $850 billion of local lending out of the system. Custody inside the bank keeps the balance inside the bank.
- What exists today: a business can accept USDC or USDT at the counter or online and settle non-custodially, in seconds, into its own wallet — no custodian, no settlement calendar, no chargebacks.
What Coinbase and Moov announced on September 10
The facts, as reported by The Block and in the companies' own statements: Moov provides payments infrastructure — card acquiring and issuing, real-time payment rails — to more than 1,000 community banks and credit unions across the United States. It is integrating Coinbase's stablecoin stack into that platform so those institutions can offer stablecoin capabilities without building a separate crypto technology stack.
Four use cases were named: consumer stablecoin payments, merchant acceptance, merchant settlement, and payouts. Moov also framed "real-time funding" — money that moves without weekend or holiday closures — as the forward-looking benefit for institutions that adopt it early.
Two components do the work. Coinbase Developer Platform custodial wallet accounts hold the funds. The Coinbase Payments API orchestrates the movement of stablecoins between them. Moov embeds both into the product community banks already use.
Three people were quoted. Ryan VanGrack of Coinbase: "Modern tech should meet local institutions where they are, giving them the tools to compete with the largest players while preserving what makes them trusted pillars of their communities." Jill Castilla, CEO of Citizens Bank of Edmond, a 125-year-old Oklahoma community bank, said her small business customers want lower interchange costs and faster payments. And Moov CEO Wade Arnold, whose sentence is the one this analysis is about.
The sentence that matters: "today they go outside their institution to do it"
Arnold's full quote: "Business customers of community institutions are already being asked to accept stablecoins, and today they go outside their institution to do it. We built this so the answer comes from their primary FI instead."
Read that as a market report rather than as marketing, because it is one. A payments infrastructure company with a thousand bank customers is saying that the small businesses banked by those institutions — the hardware store, the dental practice, the regional distributor — are being asked by their customers and suppliers to take dollars on-chain, and that they are already doing it, through providers that are not their bank.
This is the first time a bank-side announcement has led with acceptance demand from ordinary businesses. Contrast it with the 21-bank consortium stablecoin announced on September 1, which committed to issuing a dollar and said nothing about anyone accepting it. Nine days later, the community-bank tier has said the opposite: our customers already accept it, we want to be the ones providing it.
So the demand is validated by the people with the least incentive to exaggerate it. The question for a merchant is what they are being offered in exchange for bringing that activity back inside the bank.
Read the architecture: a custodian in the middle, a bank in front, the merchant at the end
Every acceptance product answers one question before all others: who holds the money between the moment the customer pays and the moment the merchant can spend it? Here, the announcement answers it plainly. Funds are held in custodial wallet accounts operated by Coinbase's developer platform. Moov's platform orchestrates. The bank delivers. The merchant receives.
That is not a criticism of any party. It is the same shape as card acquiring, rebuilt on a stablecoin rail. The customer's dollar enters a custodian's account, an intermediary's system records who it belongs to, and the merchant is credited on the intermediary's terms. What changes is the rail underneath. What does not change is the merchant's position at the end of a chain of institutions, each of which can set terms, hold funds, and — because they are regulated financial institutions with obligations of their own — freeze or close the relationship.
Now list what the announcement left open, because those blanks are where the merchant's economics live:
- Which stablecoins. Not stated. Coinbase co-founded USDC and earns reserve income on USDC held on its platform — reportedly close to a quarter of its revenue — so USDC is the obvious candidate, but "stablecoin payments" was left generic.
- What acceptance costs. Not stated. Castilla's customers want "lower interchange". Whether the merchant discount rate through a bank-embedded product is a network fee in cents or a percentage of the ticket set by the bank is the whole question, and it was not answered.
- When it goes live for a given bank, and whether a merchant can opt in directly or must wait for their institution to roll it out.
- How fast proceeds become spendable. A stablecoin settles on-chain in seconds. Whether the merchant then waits for a batch to their deposit account — and on whose calendar — is a product decision, not a property of the chain.
- Who decides reversals. On-chain settlement is final. A custodial balance is not; the custodian and the bank can reverse a credit as a matter of policy. Nothing in the announcement says whether bank-delivered stablecoin payments carry dispute rights, and for a merchant that is the single largest hidden cost of the card model.
Five blanks, and each one is a term a business would normally read before signing an acquiring agreement.
Why a bank sells you custody: the deposit-flight fight behind the announcement
The timing is not incidental. The Senate has scheduled a procedural vote on the CLARITY Act — the market-structure bill that passed the House in July — for September 15. The bill has stalled largely over one provision: whether stablecoin issuers and their partners may pay rewards on balances. The Independent Community Bankers of America, with 44 state associations and the ABA behind it, has pressed for a full prohibition, citing its own analysis that a rewards loophole could move roughly $1.3 trillion out of community bank deposits and cut local lending by about $850 billion. Those are interested-party projections, not observed losses, but they explain the posture: community banks see stablecoins as a threat to the deposit base they lend against.
Put the two stories side by side. The lobby says stablecoins will drain deposits. The infrastructure provider says the bank's business customers are already using stablecoins elsewhere. The product that resolves both is custody inside the bank: if the merchant's stablecoin proceeds live in an account the bank delivers and can sweep into a deposit, the balance stays within the institution's orbit. The customer's stablecoin activity stops leaking out, and the deposit relationship that funds the loan book is preserved.
The permission to do this is settled. The OCC confirmed in Interpretive Letter 1183 in March 2025 that national banks and federal savings associations may engage in crypto custody, certain stablecoin activities and distributed-ledger payment activities without prior supervisory non-objection. Community banks can do this. The September 10 announcement is the distribution deal that lets a thousand of them do it without building anything.
None of this is improper. It is simply worth knowing that the product is optimised for keeping the balance inside the bank, and that the merchant's own priorities — cost, speed, finality, control — are second-order to that objective. A product built to solve deposit flight and a product built to get a shop paid are not the same product, even when they share a press release.
"Lower interchange and faster" — what a bank-delivered stablecoin can and cannot deliver
Castilla's two demands are the right ones. Here is what each can mean through a custodial, bank-fronted rail, and what it cannot.
Lower cost. A stablecoin transfer on Solana, Base or Polygon costs a network fee measured in cents, independent of the amount. If the merchant is credited that way, acceptance cost genuinely collapses. But once a custodian and a bank sit in the path, cost becomes a pricing decision by those parties. A percentage MDR on a stablecoin rail is entirely possible — Japan's bank-led model prices acceptance at roughly 0.98% settled in yen, and Visa-network stablecoin settlement reaches merchants as ordinary card proceeds at ordinary card economics. Cheaper than cards is likely. As cheap as the chain is not guaranteed.
Faster. On-chain, the payment is settled when it confirms — about 0.4 seconds on Solana, around 2 seconds on Base or Polygon. Through a custodial account that then funds a deposit account, "faster" depends on the sweep schedule. Moov's phrase was "real-time funding", which is promising, and also not a commitment on the merchant's behalf.
Final. Not one of the three quotes used the word. Finality is the property that makes stablecoin acceptance materially different from cards for a merchant — no chargebacks, no 120-day reversal window, no rolling reserve held against disputes. Direct on-chain settlement has it by construction. A custodial credit has it only if the custodian and the bank decide not to offer reversal. That policy has not been published.
Yours. Also unmentioned. Funds in a custodial account are a claim on the custodian, delivered through a bank that has its own compliance obligations. Both can pause a balance, both can close an account. That is the exposure a business already carries with its acquirer, and this design carries it forward onto the new rail. The point of the rail was that it doesn't have to.
Five questions to ask your community bank before you sign
If your bank rolls this out and you are inclined to use it — which is reasonable, it is your bank — these are the questions whose answers were not in the announcement. Get them in writing.
- Where does the stablecoin sit between the customer paying and me spending it, and in whose name? If the answer is "a custodial account", ask who the custodian is and what happens to the balance if the custodian, the platform or the bank suspends service.
- What does acceptance cost — a flat network fee, or a percentage of each sale? And is the rate the bank's to change?
- When can I spend the proceeds? Seconds after the on-chain confirmation, or after a scheduled sweep to my deposit account? On weekends?
- Can a customer's stablecoin payment be reversed against me, and on what grounds? If the product carries dispute rights, it carries chargebacks.
- Which stablecoins and which networks, and can I choose to settle into USDC or USDT regardless of what the customer pays with?
A bank that answers all five clearly has built a good product. A bank that cannot answer the first and the fourth has built a card acquiring relationship with a different logo on the receipt.
The alternative that exists today: non-custodial acceptance into your own wallet
Payzum is a non-custodial, crypto-only payment processor. The design answers the first question above with one sentence: funds go directly to wallets the merchant controls. There is no custodial account, no Payzum balance, no sweep schedule. The settlement is the payment.
Against the five blanks in the September 10 announcement:
- Who holds the money: you. Payzum never holds, pools or controls funds, so there is no balance for a custodian, a platform or a bank to hold, freeze or reconcile.
- Cost: the network fee, in cents, whatever the ticket size. No acquirer, no card-network fees.
// confirmar pricing actual - Speed: spendable on confirmation — roughly 0.4 seconds on Solana, about 2 seconds on Base and Polygon — every day of the week.
- Finality: on-chain, structural. No chargebacks.
- Which stablecoin: accept whatever the customer holds across nine networks, with optional auto-conversion to USDC or USDT so a dollar-priced sale lands as a dollar.
And the ways to get paid cover both the shop and the website. In person, the Payzum POS issues a fresh QR code per sale, turns any phone into a terminal, and gives each cashier a PIN-protected login with per-cashier and per-terminal analytics. Online: hosted checkout, no-code payment links and buttons, a drop-in plugin for your existing store, invoices with expiry and overpayment detection, subscriptions and donations. On the money-out side — the "payouts" Moov also named — mass payouts by CSV for BTC, LTC and DOGE, plus EVM stablecoin payouts on Polygon, Arbitrum, Optimism, Base, BNB and Avalanche.
How it works, step by step
- Connect wallets you control. You provide the destination addresses. That single decision removes the custodian from the chain.
- Choose how you get paid. At the counter: the POS, a QR per sale, cashiers with PINs. Online: hosted checkout, links, the plugin, invoices, subscriptions.
- Pick network and settlement currency. Bitcoin, Ethereum, Solana, Polygon, Base, Arbitrum, Optimism, BNB Chain, Avalanche. Turn on auto-convert to USDC or USDT if you want every sale to settle as a dollar.
- Reconcile automatically. Signed webhooks fire on payment, a REST API with API keys exposes the same events, and a full audit log tells you which sale settled and when — including at your bank, if you sweep proceeds there on your own schedule, not someone else's.
Nothing about this competes with your community bank. Your deposit account stays where it is. What changes is that the stablecoin leg of your business no longer needs an intermediary between the customer and you.
Bank-delivered custodial acceptance vs a non-custodial rail — comparison
What the September 10 announcement describes, against what a merchant can switch on this week.
| Dimension | Community bank stablecoin payments (as announced) | Payzum |
|---|---|---|
| Availability | Announced Sep 10, 2026; rollout timing per institution not disclosed | Live. Sign up and take a payment the same day |
| Who holds the money | Coinbase custodial wallet accounts, orchestrated by Moov, delivered by the bank | You. Funds go directly to wallets you control; the settlement is the payment |
| Cost to accept | Not disclosed; set by the intermediaries | Network fees in cents, independent of ticket size. No acquirer, no card-network fees |
| When you can spend it | "Real-time funding" cited as a benefit; sweep schedule to deposit account not disclosed | On confirmation: ~0.4s Solana, ~2s Base and Polygon, seven days a week |
| Can a payment be reversed? | Not stated; a custodial credit is reversible by policy | No. On-chain finality — no chargebacks |
| Freeze / closure exposure | Custodian and bank can each pause a balance or close the relationship | None. There is no balance to hold |
| Which stablecoins | Not disclosed | Accept what the customer holds across nine chains; auto-convert to USDC or USDT |
| In-person acceptance | Not described | POS with a fresh QR per sale, any phone as terminal, PIN cashiers, per-terminal analytics |
Fair objections
"My bank has known me for 20 years. Why wouldn't I take stablecoins through them?"
Take your deposits, your loans and your treasury through them — that relationship is valuable and nothing here changes it. The question is narrower: for the stablecoin leg specifically, does routing the payment through a custodian and the bank add anything the chain doesn't already do? It adds familiarity and a single statement. It also adds a party who holds the money, a cost set by someone else, and a reversal policy you haven't seen. If your bank answers the five questions above well, use them. If not, you can settle non-custodially and still sweep to your deposit account whenever you choose.
"Isn't a Coinbase custodial account safer than holding my own keys?"
It is a different risk, not a smaller one. A custodial balance is a claim on the custodian, subject to its terms, its compliance decisions and its solvency; the overnight shutdown of a custodial payments provider in July showed exactly how that exposure behaves — the money stopped moving overnight. Self-custody makes you responsible for keys, 2FA and an audit log, which is real work. Many businesses run a dedicated operating wallet and sweep on a schedule. It is an operational change, and it is the one that removes the party who can freeze you.
"We're a small business. We don't want crypto volatility."
Then don't take any. Optional auto-conversion to USDC or USDT means a customer pays with whatever they hold and you settle in a dollar-denominated stablecoin. What you adopt is the settlement mechanism — seconds, cents, final, in your own wallet — not a position in a volatile asset.
Frequently asked questions
What did Coinbase and Moov announce on September 10, 2026?
Coinbase and Moov announced a partnership to bring stablecoin payment acceptance, merchant settlement, payouts and real-time funding to the more than 1,000 US community banks and credit unions that use Moov's payments platform. Moov is integrating Coinbase Developer Platform custodial wallet accounts and the Coinbase Payments API into its existing product, so institutions can offer stablecoin services without building their own crypto infrastructure. Which stablecoins, pricing and rollout dates were not disclosed.
Will community banks let small businesses accept stablecoin payments?
That is the stated intent. Moov's CEO said business customers of community institutions are already being asked to accept stablecoins and currently go outside their bank to do it, and that the product was built so the answer comes from their primary financial institution instead. Availability depends on each bank rolling it out, and the terms a merchant would receive — cost, settlement speed to a deposit account, and reversal policy — have not been published.
Who holds the money in community bank stablecoin payments?
According to the announcement, funds are held in custodial wallet accounts operated by Coinbase's developer platform, with Moov orchestrating movement and the bank delivering the service. The merchant is credited through that chain. By contrast, a non-custodial processor such as Payzum settles stablecoins directly into a wallet the merchant controls, with no intermediary balance.
Does accepting stablecoins through a bank eliminate chargebacks?
Not automatically. On-chain settlement is final, but a custodial credit delivered through a bank can be reversed as a matter of the custodian's or bank's policy, and no reversal policy was published with the announcement. Accepting stablecoins directly on-chain through a non-custodial processor means the payment is final on confirmation and there are no chargebacks.
Why are community banks concerned about stablecoins?
The Independent Community Bankers of America, backed by 44 state associations and the ABA, has argued that allowing stablecoin rewards under the CLARITY Act could move roughly $1.3 trillion out of community bank deposits and reduce local lending by about $850 billion. The Senate scheduled a procedural vote on the bill for September 15, 2026. Offering custodial stablecoin services inside the bank is one way institutions keep those balances within their orbit.
How can a small business accept stablecoin payments without waiting for its bank?
With Payzum you connect a wallet you control and choose how to get paid: a POS that issues a fresh QR per sale and turns any phone into a terminal with PIN-protected cashiers, or online via hosted checkout, payment links, a drop-in plugin, invoices and subscriptions. Payments settle non-custodially on Solana, Base, Polygon and six other networks in seconds, with optional auto-conversion to USDC or USDT. Your deposit account at your community bank stays exactly where it is.
Book 20 minutes and keep the bank — lose the custodian
Every business gets paid differently: a counter, a website, invoices to suppliers abroad, a contractor payroll. Book a call with our payments team and we'll design how you would accept stablecoins — and pay out — non-custodially, settling into wallets you control, alongside the bank relationship you already have.
Calendar not loading? Open the booking page · [email protected]
This article is analysis of publicly reported developments, not legal, financial or investment advice. Confirm the rules that apply in your jurisdiction before changing how your business accepts or holds payments.